ISG Members

The Iguana Specialist Group is comprised of volunteer experts with an interest in conservation of the world’s iguana species. We serve as the collective authority on iguanas and their status in the wild. Invitation is by suggestion of a current member, confirmation by another, and approval from the Steering Committee. Removal from the group is determined by a majority decision of the Steering Committee or request of the member. We seek to include representatives throughout the range countries of iguanas, as well as individuals with conservation and/or research expertise with each taxon.


ISG members encompass a diverse group of skills – scientific, education and outreach, conservation management, husbandry, fundraising, information technology, and policy. Members represent universities, zoological organizations, the private sector, NGOs, and government agencies. Members must play an active role in conservation, research, education, or act as a valuable resource for information on iguanas, contributing to the overall visibility of the ISG during their 4-year term. Examples of member participation include: attendance at annual meetings, contribution to Red List assessments, group organization and administration, in-kind contributions to programs (artwork, translation services, photography, desktop publishing), participation in conservation research efforts, and publication of research and conservation activities in scientific, government, and public outlets.


Membership Term 2021–2025:  95 members, 26 countries including overseas territories (Cayman Islands, French West Indies, Puerto Rico)

Allison Alberts – Ecoleaders, USA

Jimmy Andino – Fundación Islas de la Bahía, Útila, Honduras

Baptiste Angin – Ardops Environnement, Guadeloupe

Steve Anstey – Ahura Resorts Conservation Foundation, Fiji Islands

Daniel Ariano-Sánchez – Universidad del Valle de Guatemala & Organización Zootropic, Guatemala

John Bendon – Independent, United Kingdom

John Binns – International Reptile Conservation Foundation, Inc., USA

Brian Bock – Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Columbia

Kelly Bradley – Fort Worth Zoo, USA

Michel Breuil – Éducation Nationale, France

Jeanelle Brisbane – WildDominique, Dominica

Tom Brown – Kanahau Utila Research and Conservation Facility, Útila, Honduras

Judith Bryja – Independent, Texas, USA

Larry Buckley – Rochester Institute of Technology, USA

Sandra Buckner – Bahamas National Trust, The Bahamas

Joseph Burgess – Gulf Islands National Seashore, USA

Gordon Burghardt – University of Tennessee, USA

Frederic Burton – Cayman Islands Department of Environment, Grand Cayman

Paul Calle – Wildlife Conservation Society, USA

Paula Castaño – Island Conservation, Galápagos Islands, Ecuador

Giuliano Colosimo – University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy

Steve Conners – Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission, USA

Christina De Jesus Villanueva, USFS International Institute of Tropical Forestry, Puerto Rico

Kevin de Queiroz – US National Museum of Natural History, Smithsonian Institution, USA

Luis Díaz Beltrán – Museo Nacional de Historia Natural, Cuba

Nathalie Duporge – Wildlife Consultant, Martinique

Cielo Figuerola – University of Puerto Rico and Island Conservation, Puerto Rico

Robert Fisher – US Geological Survey, USA

Michael Fouraker – Fort Worth Zoo, USA

Susannah French – Utah State University, USA

Joel Friesch – Scaled Art, USA

Miguel Garcia – USFWS Science Application, Puerto Rico

Gabriele Gentile – University of Rome Tor Vergata, Italy

Glenn Gerber – San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance, USA

Johana Gil – Reserva Natural Heloderma, Guatemala

Matt Goetz – Durrell Wildlife Conservation Trust, Jersey, British Channel Islands

Amnerys González Rossell – Centro Nacional de Áreas Protegidas, Cuba

Ashley B.C. Goode – U.S.D.A., Agricultural Research Service, USA

Tandora Grant – Independent, California, USA

Kim Gray – San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance, USA

Julie Gresser – Direction de l’Environnement, de l’Aménagement et du Logement, Martinique

Jane Haakonsson – Cayman Islands Department of Environment, Grand Cayman

Luke Harding – Blue Iguana Conservation, Grand Cayman

Peter Harlow – Taronga Conservation Society, Australia

Sarah Havery – Royal Society for the Protection of Birds, UK

Evert Henningheim – Dutch Iguana Foundation, The Netherlands

Jose Luis Herrera-Giraldo – Island Conservation, Puerto Rico

Kirsten Hines – Kirsten Nature Travel, USA

Brad Hollingsworth – San Diego Natural History Museum, USA

John Iverson – Earlham College, USA

Jill Jollay – International Iguana Foundation, USA and Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Charles Knapp – John G. Shedd Aquarium, USA

Tanja Laaser – National Trust for the Cayman Islands, Little Cayman

Jeffery Lemm – San Diego Zoo Wildlife Alliance, USA

Amy MacLeod – University of Leipzig, Germany

Hannah Madden – Caribbean Netherlands Science Institute, Caribbean Netherlands

Catherine Malone – Independent, The Netherlands

Andrea Martinez – Kanahua Research and Conservation Facility, Spain

Daisy Maryon – Kanahau Útila Research and Conservation Facility, Útila, Honduras

Kyle Miller – National Zoological Park, Smithsonian Institution, USA

Chad Montgomery – Truman State University, USA

Jorge Morales Mávil – Universidad Veracruzana, México

Farah Mukhida – Anguilla National Trust, Anguilla

Ann-Elizabeth Nash – University of Northern Colorado and Colorado Reptile Humane Society, USA

Karin Nelson – University of Illinois at Chicago, USA

Sophie O’Hehir – Independent, UK

Lee Pagni – Studio Mundo, USA

Stesha Pasachnik – Fort Worth Zoo, USA

Cayle Pearson – Jacksonville Zoo, USA

Nestor Perez Buitrago – Universidad Nacional de Colombia, Columbia

Gad Perry – Texas Tech University, USA

Robert Powell – Avila University, USA

Elaine Powers – Powers Books and Lyric Power Publishing, USA

Kimberly Rainwater – Fort Worth Zoo, USA

Bonnie Raphael – Independent, New York, USA

Ivan Rehak – Zoologická Zahrada Praha, Czech Republic

R. Graham Reynolds – University of North Carolina, Asheville, USA

Victor Hugo Reynoso Rosales – Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México, México

Ernst Rupp – Grupo Jaragua, Inc., Dominican Republic

Ana Daniela Sansur Pavón – Kanahau Utila Research and Conservation Facility, Útila, Honduras

Geoffrey Smith – Denison University, USA

Wendy Townsend – Independent, USA

Christopher Tracy – Philip L. Boyd Deep Canyon Desert Research Center, Indian Wells, USA

C. Richard Tracy – University of Nevada, Reno, USA

Thijs van den Burg – Burg Biologica, The Netherlands

Rick van Veen – Independent, Australia

Tim van Wagensveld – Mac & Field, The Netherlands

Isabel Vique – Fauna & Flora International, UK

Tarren Wagener – Fort Worth Zoo, USA

Joseph Wasilewski – Natural Selections, USA

Bruce Weissgold – Independent, formerly USFWS, USA

Mark Welch – Mississippi State University, USA

Thomas Wiewandt – Wild Horizons Productions, USA

Byron Wilson – Independent, USA

Eugenia Zarza – El Colegio de la Frontera Sur, México